Nephi, Monte Serrat, and English Class

Hey family!

I think my emails from the office are a little less exciting, sorry. I’m trying to think of cool things that happened this week!

Here’s one: When we were listening to President speak during the conference about two weeks back, I suddenly had the feeling I should read the story in the book of Helaman about Nephi’s experience in prophesying the death of the chief judge at the hand of his brother, which I hadn’t read in a long time! I wasn’t really sure why I felt like that, but this week I got around to reading it, and I was reading and reading and wasn’t really sure what I was looking for. Then I got to Helaman 10:4-5, and I found it! This is what the Lord says after the people ignore Nephi:

“Blessed art thou, Nephi, for those things which thou hast done; for I have beheld how thou hast with unwearyingness declared the word, which I have given unto thee, unto this people. And thou hast not feared them, and hast not sought thine own life, but hast sought my will, and to keep my commandments.

“And now, because thou hast done this with such unwearyingness, behold, I will bless thee forever; and I will make thee mighty in word and in deed, in faith and in works; yea, even that all things shall be done unto thee according to thy word, for thou shalt not ask that which is contrary to my will.”

That’s a pretty great promise! And I like a lot what the Lord says at the end of verse 4. We talk a lot in the mission about leaving our own life to the side, seeking the will of the lord, and keeping the commandments. Anyway, I thought that was a great scripture and I was really glad I found it this week.

In other news, Elder Sharp and I went on a running adventure this past Monday morning. We ran from our house to the top of Monte Serrat, a hill in Santos, to watch the sunrise! It was pretty great, we could see all of Santos and the ocean and also lots of Guarujá, including Boa Esperança, my first area. We took pictures, too! (they’re all on his phone, though. I’m working on that.) We had to take the bus back home to arrive in time for our morning studies, but it was a lot of fun.

Our English classes here in the Orquidário ward also started this week. It’s a great way to meet new people and invite people to come to the chapel. Everyone here has either studied or wants to study English.

That’s about it for this week! We also went to the federal police for some more visa work, went on a long search in Santos for a sister’s missing packages, and practiced some more of the cantata. Good stuff!

Thanks for the letters, everyone, have a great week!

Love,
Elder Maughan

Photos: Here’s Elder Rodgers and me, and then one of the main room in the office, where Elder Rodgers is relaxing on my desk haha. So now you know where I spend my days!

This week was President Cabral’s birthday, so Sister Cabral shared these fun photos of his ‘surprise’ party:

Comments

