Transfers!

So the title is kind of misleading, because as of right now we still don’t know who is or is not being transferred. They usually tell us on the Sunday night before, but we’ll find out sometime today!

Yesterday was Elder K’s birthday, so that was fun–we had lunch with a super nice member who introduced me to churrasco, Brazilian barbeque. I had heard all about it, and I was not disappointed! I think I’m still full. While we were there, Santos FC was playing for the soccer championship of the state of São Paulo, and I had my first real fireworks-and-everybody-shouting-from-the-rooftops experience! It continued until Santos lost, and then everybody was just kind of quiet haha.

Other than that, this week we had two splits (divisions? exchanges? I can’t remember the word), so on Wednesday I worked with Elder O, and on Friday/Saturday with Elder C, a Chilean who’s in the Villa Aurea area. Elder C is still working on his Portuguese too, so it was kind of an adventure to be working in a companionship where neither of us was really fluent haha. But we taught a few good lessons! We did more teaching and less finding this week, which is always good.

So this week should be exciting! With transfers tomorrow and then our Easter conference on Wednesday. Apparently President Cabral gives really interesting talks at the conferences, so we’re all looking forward to that.

Well I hope everyone’s doing well, I’ll talk to you all soon!

Love,
Elder Maughan

The message that Craig is sharing with the people in Santos, Brazil:

Screen Shot 2014-04-14 at 12.21.32 PM

[excerpts from family emails:

SCOTT: Hey how has the temperature been in Santos? This past whole week was in the 70s for Provo… no big deal.

CRAIG: Bom dia! So I think that the weather we’re having right now is already colder than anything you ever had, Scott. Or Eric, too!

ERIC: Hey Craig! I once had a mission companion tell me that he couldn’t feel his fingers because it was so cold! Of course, he was from maranhao, and it was still probably 55, but I feel your pain.

CRAIG: Haha yeah! I thought about putting on my jacket before we left for the LAN house this morning, but I remembered myself just in time!]

Comments

